Breaking News: Five UK Labour frontbench MPs resign after amendment defeat

In the second day of the debate, Members of the UK Parliament voted against the Labour amendment, which would allow the government to negotiate full access to the single market, to the Brexit Bill by a majority of 82 (322 vs. 240).

Following the defeat, five shadow cabinet office ministers, namely Laura Smith, Ged Killen, Ellie Reeves, Tonia Antoniazzi and Anna McMorrin, announced their resignations.

Story developing...

Information on these pages contains forward-looking statements that involve risks and uncertainties. Markets and instruments profiled on this page are for informational purposes only and should not in any way come across as a recommendation to buy or sell in these assets. You should do your own thorough research before making any investment decisions. FXStreet does not in any way guarantee that this information is free from mistakes, errors, or material misstatements. It also does not guarantee that this information is of a timely nature. Investing in Open Markets involves a great deal of risk, including the loss of all or a portion of your investment, as well as emotional distress. All risks, losses and costs associated with investing, including total loss of principal, are your responsibility.